Merry Christmas and Pizza

The space between posts has been fairly substantial.  Why?  Two reasons:

First, it is difficult to “go back” and, if you will, relive the past in this context.  My MO in the past has been to dwell on the negative and live in the world of “what if.”  As I write this I will tell you that this tendency and horrific habit has been changing big time.

I am learning how to recall and “go back” without allowing it to bring me down.  While not everyone in a similar situation as my own is like me, there are others out there – guaranteed.  So to all of you I will say, if I can do it, I believe you can also.  So hang in there!

Second, I had my last appointment this year with my PCP person.  I have also been falling asleep early so my sleeping pattern is disrupted.  I also let him know that I seem to have a lot of energy for three, sometimes four days after I took my 1 1/2 pills (once a week, along with one pill six times a week) for sluggish thyroid function.  He looked at the blood tests and said, “Well no wonder.  Your TSH score is in the basement.”  At which he upped the synthroid to 150 mcg from 112 mcg,  So part of my lack of oomph was physical.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now before posting what is prepared from my husband person (caregiver aka Mr T – teacher):

Our hope for  each of  you and yours is a most Blessed Christmas and healthy New Year. 

As we Celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ may we all allow our generosity of spirit and deed to continue to flow freely.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I asked Mr T to put together a few thoughts from the caregiver perspective.  So without further word from me, heeeeeere’s Mr T:

Um…..ok

Me a caregiver.  Never been placed into that role before.  Sure, I was a dad and took care of the kids.  Held them when they were sick or just needed held.  But, giving care to a loved one gravely ill, well I never faced this before.  I knew how to be taken care of, having had a few ‘incidents’ in my life.  But caregiver?  Was I prepared for this?

In my life I have learned a few things and tend to be contrary to the core.  So when life deals me lemons, I get PIZZA. Anyone can make lemonade, but turning the world on its heels takes ingenuity and at times bigger cajoles than you knew you had.

I was taught as a puppy cop a few maxims. One was to learn my limitations and then realize I had none.  Facing the unknown, thinking fast and, doing something (even if it was wrong) was a way of life.  And now it was really being put to the test!

When Mrs. AL decided to fight this menace I was all in.  One issue facing her was never having learned to scrap. I mean down and dirty street fight and, in a place where you cannot lose, ever.  She had never faced her own mortality before and now realized it was going to happen.  After all, none of us gets out of here alive.  Facing death, especially your own is not a comfortable place to be.  My job: teach her to fight, win at all cost and, give no quarter.

This was not the easiest job.  She only saw me being strong. She did not see the tears driving to work.  She wasn’t aware of the sleepless nights checking to see if she was breathing.  True to her name, Mrs. AL learned fast (she had no choice), was always receptive and, took charge.

I was cautioned before the chemo started to make sure she stays active and not to lose weight.  I am a master at not losing weight so that part I had locked down.

Then came one of the tests for the caregiver!

Prior to the third treatment, blood was drawn locally three days prior to treatment (it was usually done the day of the treatment).  That same day, Mrs. AL was on the phone with the chemo palace and was told she might not be able to get her chemo because her white cell count was in the dumper.  I could see the disappointment and despair starting.  This was not going to end well.

Think, THINK, T H I N K, do something anything to change the situation.  A quick check online showed me that eggs raise white cell counts.  I like eggs, especially with bacon and lightly buttered toast.  EGGS I call out, and she comes running.  “What?” she asks. EGGS I tell her, eggs raise white cell counts (ok, so I left the part off that it takes a long time and ain’t really all that great anyway).  “What are you waiting for,” she says, “GO GET EGGS!”  Off I go, and boy did we eat eggs.  For two and a half days, eggs with bacon and toast, too!

We go to the chemo palace and the doctor tells her white cell count is good to go and she can get the treatment.   Mrs. AL leans over and hits me on the arm and says to the doctor, “he said it would work.”  “What?” the doctor asked.  She proceeded to tell him all about the eggs and how I said it would raise the white cells.

Doc just looks at me with a glare.  All I said to him was, “hey, it worked.”  The mental part was far more important that weekend than the tests or treatment. (What if it hadn’t worked?  I have no idea how I would have gotten out of that one!)

Whether intentional or not we are all taught as kids to quit when the going gets tough or we don’t feel comfortable and to hang onto a mom or dad.   And moms and dads don’t want to see their wee ones hurt so they reinforce the idea of looking elsewhere for help.

If we are fortunate we have experiences with people who hold us to account for our actions.  If we are really blessed we learn to make PIZZA out of lemons and do something, anything even it’s wrong.

As for me, I have added eggs, bacon and, toast to that PIZZA recipe.  And, I will always remember that day and how I was taught as a young cop to recognize I had no limitations, that the only thing standing in my way of anything is me.   A lesson, I am proud to say, Mrs. AL learned as well.


19 Comments on “Merry Christmas and Pizza”

  1. Gar Swaffar says:

    Well…a Great Big Merry CHRISTmas to you both, and yes, pizza will solve several of the problems of the world.
    Can we picture Fanatical Islamist Terrorists sitting around eating pizza (w/ extra artichoke hearts) and a glass of red wine and then deciding to go out and blow themselves up? I think not.

    And if the egg whites hadn’t worked? Do the obvious, switch to cage free, Omega 6 rich, brown eggs with lots of hot salsa slathered over them.

    Your job wasn’t easy, been there, done that and my hat is off to you sir.

    • Mrs. AL says:

      Mr T thanks you for your comments, Gar (he doesn’t comment – haha). And so do I as I have tipped my hat to him on multiple occasions, especially when I wore hats when I was bald.

      A Blessed Christmas back to ya’ll, Gar.

      You know, it occurs to me that if you or your wife person would like to share any experiences, I would be honored to post them. I realize this isn’t for everyone but I do know there are people who read but never comment here.

  2. Those who live in their hearts will always be given the answers they need, when they need them.
    Hmmm. Lemon Pizza. I gotta try that, some day.
    And it’s rather an interesting situatioon, when one teaches a medical professional how to handle their therapy. The responses are, at the minimum, PRICELESS~!
    A Blessed Merry Christmas to ALL who read this, and to Mrs AL and Mr T of course~!
    And May the Love of God be given the Earth this Christmas Season, as we celebrate the birth of The Christ Child.

    • Mrs. AL says:

      The Doc did eventually “get it” when he thought for a moment. I think his initial concern was that I was being given “false hope.” That can be devastating. BTW, the Onc genuinely enjoys our follow-up visits with him. We get him laughing. I personally can’t imagine doing what he does.

      Thanx for sharing your Christmas greeting with ALL who visit here. And I hope you know we return the greeting to you, Mrs Grouchy and your entire circle of family and friends, Grouchy.

  3. thedrpete says:

    Mr. T is a very-lucky husband person and Mrs. AL is a very-lucky wife person. And we here in the wordpress blogosphere neighborhood are blessed by having now both of them. Merry Christmas to all.

    Terrie, Bailey (cocker spaniel), and I are housecleaning here one final time this morning before leaving this afternoon for good. We’re leaving our lakefront home of the last twenty years and its view of the Great Smoky Mountains, that to begin our next life adventure.

    • Mrs. AL says:

      Indeed, DrPete, we are both blessed. It still amazes me that we even met.

      So what does Bailey do to assist you and Terrie? Supervise??? haha

      Thanx for your Merry Christmas to all and we return the greeting. Please travel safe to your new destination. When you have a moment, update us where you and your family are going to land … not on a rooftop, I trust — hehe.

      • thedrpete says:

        Louisville TN -> Cherokee NC today. Cherokee -> Bluffton SC Tuesday. Bluffton/Hilton Head -> PGA Verano (Port St. Lucie FL) January 1. Verano -> Paradise Beach Condos on Satellite Beach FL January 4-February 1. ??? until house ready in early February in Verano.

  4. CW says:

    It seems that being truly tested in life teaches us important lessons about challenging ourselves. Thanks for sharing the lessons at no cost to us!

    Merry Christmas to you and your husband person! No doubt you have lots of great reasons to look forward to the coming new year. 🙂

    • Mrs. AL says:

      You have had your teachable moments this year, CW. And you are so right, they challenge us. And they can make us stronger, eh?

      And Merry Christmas back to you and your family, CW. And I think we all have lots of reasons to look forward to 2014.

  5. mystere says:

    Hey Mrs. Al! Merry Christmas! Hope all is well! I’ve been busy making a liberal troll called Liberalmann miserable for spewing left wing hate talking points on several conservative sites, so I’ve been busy. See you at Hardnox & Friends!

    mystere

    mystere’s moonbat slayer club, mystere’s moonbat spanker, liberalmann is a dingbat (my blog to irritate “Lester Liberalmann” the liberal troll)

  6. tannngl says:

    Beautifully said, husband. What a great guy you have, Mrs. AL! We can do anything. Just have to KNOW it!

    And I pray you continue to grow in the knowledge that what is past is past and you have been healed.
    A very merry Christmas to you both. It’s like Thanksgiving!!!♡

    • Mrs. AL says:

      Exactly, tannngl! And every day is a holiday. Mr T appreciates your kindness and

      MERRY CHRISTMAS to your and your family and friends …

      And

      Happy Birthday!

  7. tannngl says:

    Happy New Year my friend at Mrs. AL’s Place! You’ve been nominated for the Sunshine Award! I appreciate you all!

    I have nominated ten fellow bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.

    http://tannngl.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/thank-you-so-much-biltrix-the-sunshine-award%F0%9F%98/

    • Mrs. AL says:

      And Happy New Year to you in return, tannngl !

      My goodness, a nomination. Who’d a thunk it. Seriously, I am honored. I will be over later to see what you have to say. Am getting busy for a quiet evening …

  8. bob agard says:

    You both seem like wonderful people. I am sure the doctor feels blessed to interact with both of you. You are in my prayers.

    • Mrs. AL says:

      Thanx for the visit, Bob. Went to your site. Will be back as time allows. You have a good one there!

      I wouldn’t characterize us as “wonderful,” Bob. We are, however, the recipients of the Lord’s mercy. Underserving as it is, He is faithful in all circumstances!! Thank you for your prayers. So far so good.

      And you are spot-on. The Onc does enjoy interacting with us as we added humor to the whole process. If you know someone seeing an Onc, in addition to praying for the patient, please consider praying for the Onc and staff who work with the patient. They have a really tough job.


Questions and Comments Welcomed

